Skip to content
College Station TAMU
Faculty: Department Head, Professor

Grigory Rogachev

(he / him / his)


Grigory Rogachev is specializing in low energy experimental nuclear physics and nuclear astrophysics. He is doing research related to structure of light and medium mass nuclei, in particular structure of exotic neutron-rich and neutron-deficient isotopes, clustering phenomena in nuclei, mechanisms of nuclear reactions, applications of nuclear physics methods for determining rates of nuclear reactions that drive nucleosynthesis and energy generation in stellar environment. Grigory Rogachev graduated from Moscow Engineering Physics Institute (State University) in 1996 with Master of Science degree in Experimental Nuclear Physics. From 1996 to 1999 Grigory Rogachev was a Research Assistant at the National Research Center "Kurchatov Institute" where he received his Ph.D. degree in 1999. From 2000 to 2004 he was associated with the University of Notre Dame, first as a Ph.D. Research Associateand later as a Research Assistant Professor (2003-2004). In summer of 2004 Grigory Rogachev joined Department of Physics at Florida State University as an Assistant Professor. In 2010 he was tenured and promoted to an Associate Professor. In summer of 2013 he joined faculty at the Department of Physics and Astronomy and Cyclotron Institute at Texas A&M University.

Selected Publications

J. Bishop, G. V. Rogachev, S. Ahn, E. Aboud, M. Barbui, A. Bosh, C. Hunt, H. Jayatissa, E. Koshchiy, R. Malecek, S. T. Marley, E. C. Pollacco, C. D. Pruitt, B. T. Roeder, A. Saastamoinen, L. G. Sobotka, and S. Upadhyayula. “Almost medium-free measurement of the Hoyle state direct-decay component with a TPC.” Phys. Rev. C, 102(4), 041303(R), Oct 2020.

E. Koshchiy, G.V. Rogachev, E. Pollacco, S. Ahn, E. Uberseder, J. Hooker, J. Bishop, E. Aboud, M. Barbui, V.Z. Goldberg, C. Hunt, H. Jayatissa, C. Magana, R. O'Dwyer, B.T. Roeder, A. Saastamoinen, and S. Upadhyayula. “Texas Active Target (TexAT) detector for experiments with rare isotope beams.” Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research Section A: Accelerators, Spectrometers, Detectors and Associated Equipment, 957, 163398, Mar 2020.

H. Jayatissa, G.V. Rogachev, V.Z. Goldberg, E. Koshchiy, G. Christian, J. Hooker, S. Ota, B.T. Roeder, A. Saastamoinen, O. Trippella, S. Upadhyayula, and E. Uberseder. “Constraining the 22Ne(α,γ)26Mg and 22Ne(α,n)25Mg reaction rates using sub-Coulomb α-transfer reactions.” Physics Letters B, 802, 135267, Mar 2020.

C. Hunt, G. V. Rogachev, S. Almaraz-Calderon, A. Aprahamian, M. Avila, L. T. Baby, B. Bucher, V. Z. Goldberg, E. D. Johnson, K. W. Kemper, A. N. Kuchera, W. P. Tan, and I. Wiedenhöver. “Observation of T=3/2 isobaric analog states in Be9 using p+Li8 resonance scattering.” Phys. Rev. C, 102(1), 014615, Jul 2020.

J. Hooker, G. V. Rogachev, E. Koshchiy, S. Ahn, M. Barbui, V. Z. Goldberg, C. Hunt, H. Jayatissa, E. C. Pollacco, B. T. Roeder, A. Saastamoinen, and S. Upadhyayula. “Structure of C9 through proton resonance scattering with the Texas Active Target detector.” Phys. Rev. C, 100(5), 054618, Nov 2019.

N. Rijal, I. Wiedenhöver, J. C. Blackmon, M. Anastasiou, L. T. Baby, D. D. Caussyn, P. Höflich, K. W. Kemper, E. Koshchiy, and G. V. Rogachev. “Measurement of d+Be7 Cross Sections for Big-Bang Nucleosynthesis.” Phys. Rev. Lett., 122(18), 182701, May 2019.

E. Koshchiy, J.C. Blackmon, G.V. Rogachev, I. Wiedenhöver, L. Baby, P. Barber, D.W. Bardayan, J. Belarge, D. Caussyn, E.D. Johnson, K. Kemper, A.N. Kuchera, L.E. Linhardt, K.T. Macon, M. Matoš, B.S. Rasco, and D. Santiago-Gonzalez. “ANASEN: The array for nuclear astrophysics and structure with exotic nuclei.” Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research Section A: Accelerators, Spectrometers, Detectors and Associated Equipment, 870, 1--11, Oct 2017.

J. Hooker, G.V. Rogachev, V.Z. Goldberg, E. Koshchiy, B.T. Roeder, H. Jayatissa, C. Hunt, C. Magana, S. Upadhyayula, E. Uberseder, and A. Saastamoinen. “Structure of 10N in 9C+p resonance scattering.” Physics Letters B, 769, 62--66, Jun 2017.

E. Uberseder, G.V. Rogachev, V.Z. Goldberg, E. Koshchiy, B.T. Roeder, M. Alcorta, G. Chubarian, B. Davids, C. Fu, J. Hooker, H. Jayatissa, D. Melconian, and R.E. Tribble. “Nuclear structure beyond the neutron drip line: The lowest energy states in 9 He via their T = 5/2 isobaric analogs in 9 Li.” Physics Letters B, 754, 323--327, Mar 2016.

M. L. Avila, G. V. Rogachev, E. Koshchiy, L. T. Baby, J. Belarge, K. W. Kemper, A. N. Kuchera, A. M. Mukhamedzhanov, D. Santiago-Gonzalez, and E. Uberseder. “Constraining the 6.05 MeV0+and 6.13 MeV3-Cascade Transitions in theC12(α,γ)O16Reaction Using the Asymptotic Normalization Coefficients.” Phys. Rev. Lett., 114(7), 071101, Feb 2015.

Awards & Recognition

  • Kurchatov Prize (1998)

Copyright © 2021. All rights reserved, Texas A&M University Trademark | Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas 77843