College Station TAMU

Home    /    Directory    /    Profile

John C. Hardy

Faculty: Distinguished Professor Emeritus


Professor Hardy's primary focus is on the study of superallowed nuclear beta decay as a probe of the weak interaction.By combining precise measurements with specialized calculations to account for radiative and isospin-symmetry-breaking effects, he and his colleagues have obtained the most precise value for the up-down quark mixing element of the Cabibbo-Kobayashi-Maskawa matrix and made possible the most demanding test currently available of the unitarity of that matrix; their results also set the tightest limit on the possible existence of scalar currents.They continue to refine and improve their studies in order to explore further for physics beyond the Standard Model.

Latest Publications

V. E. Iacob, J. C. Hardy, H. I. Park, M. Bencomo, L. Chen, V. Horvat, N. Nica, B. T. Roeder, and A. Saastamoinen. “New precise half-life measurement for the superallowed β+ emitter Ar34.” Phys. Rev. C, 101(1), 015504, Jan 2020.

V. E. Iacob, J. C. Hardy, H. I. Park, M. Bencomo, L. Chen, V. Horvat, N. Nica, B. T. Roeder, A. Saastamoinen, and I. S. Towner. “Precise β branching-ratio measurement for the 0+->0+ superallowed decay of Ar34.” Phys. Rev. C, 101(4), 045501, Apr 2020.

V. Horvat, E. E. Tereshatov, J. C. Hardy, N. Nica, C. M. Folden, V. E. Iacob, and M. B. Trzhaskovskaya. “K -shell internal conversion coefficient for M4 decay of the 30.8 keV isomer in Nb93.” Phys. Rev. C, 102(1), 014310, Jul 2020.

J. C. Hardy and I. S. Towner. “Superallowed 0+->0+ nuclear β decays: 2020 critical survey, with implications for Vud and CKM unitarity.” Phys. Rev. C, 102(4), 045501, Oct 2020.

H. I. Park, J. C. Hardy, M. Bencomo, V. E. Iacob, I. S. Towner, K. T. Macon, W. P. Tan, M. Brodeur, A. Boeltzig, B. Frentz, S. L. Henderson, J. Long, S. McGuinness, O. Olivas-Gomez, P. O'Malley, G. Seymour, B. Vande Kolk, and A. Kayani. “Intensity of a weak 519-keV γ ray following β decay of the superallowed emitter 34Ar determined via the 33S(p,γ)34Cl reaction.” Phys. Rev. C, 102(4), 045502, Oct 2020.

Awards & Recognition

  • Tom W. Bonner Prize from the American Physical Society (2006)
  • Fellowship, American Physical Society (1983)
  • Rutherford Medal in Physics from the Royal Society of Canada (1981)
  • Fellowship, Royal Society of Canada (1979)
  • Herzberg Medal from the Canadian Association of Physicists (1976)