Skip to content
Joe Ross headshot
TAMU College Station
Faculty: Professor

Joe Ross


MPHY 448 (main office)

ENPH B03 (aux. location)


Prof. Ross received a BS in Physics from Yale University and a PhD in Physics from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. He was a postdoctoral associate from 1986-88 at Cornell University, and he has been at Texas A&M University since 1988, where he is now Professor. His research has focused on electronic and magnetic materials, using NMR spectroscopy as well as magnetic and transport measurements, computational methods, and other techniques. His recent work has included studies of advanced thermoelectric materials with potential for next-generation energy recovery devices, and also emerging effects such as the spin and topological behavior of these materials. Other recent work has focused on magnetic and magnetocaloric behavior of alloys such as shape memory materials, and on understanding the interplay of ordered magnetic phases that underlies the thermal behavior of these materials.

Selected Publications

Yefan Tian, Nader Ghassemi, and Joseph H. Ross. “Gap-Opening Transition in Dirac Semimetal ZrTe5.” Phys. Rev. Lett., 126(23), 236401, Jun 2021.

Yefan Tian, Yanglin Zhu, Rui Li, Zhiqiang Mao, and Joseph H. Ross. “NMR determination of Van Hove singularity and Lifshitz transitions in the nodal-line semimetal ZrSiTe.” Phys. Rev. B, 104(4), L041105, Jul 2021.

Yefan Tian, Farit G. Vagizov, Nader Ghassemi, Wuyang Ren, Hangtian Zhu, Zhiming Wang, Zhifeng Ren, and Joseph H. Ross. “Defect charging and resonant levels in half-Heusler Nb1-Ti FeSb.” Materials Today Physics, 16, 100278, Jan 2021.

Yefan Tian, Nader Ghassemi, and Joseph H. Ross. “Topological nodal line in ZrTe2 demonstrated by nuclear magnetic resonance.” Phys. Rev. B, 102(16), 165149, Oct 2020.

Yefan Tian, Nader Ghassemi, and Joseph H. Ross. “Dirac electron behavior and NMR evidence for topological band inversion in ZrTe5.” Phys. Rev. B, 100(16), 165149, Oct 2019.

Yefan Tian, Ali A. Sirusi, Sedat Ballikaya, Nader Ghassemi, Ctirad Uher, and Joseph H. Ross. “Charge-carrier behavior in Ba-, Sr- and Yb-filled CoSb3 : NMR and transport studies.” Phys. Rev. B, 99(12), 125109, Mar 2019.

Nader Ghassemi, Xu Lu, Yefan Tian, Emily Conant, Yanci Yan, Xiaoyuan Zhou, and Joseph H. Ross. “Structure Change and Rattling Dynamics in Cu12Sb4S13 Tetrahedrite: an NMR Study.” ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces, 10(42), 36010--36017, Sep 2018.

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved, Texas A&M University Trademark | Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas 77843