College Station TAMU

Home    /    Directory    /    Profile

Che-Ming Ko

Faculty: Distinguished Professor


CYCL 337 (main office)


Professor Ko received a from Tunghai University in Taiwan, a M.Sc. degree from McMaster University in Canada and a Ph.D. from the State University of New York at Stony Brook. Before joining the Texas A&M faculty in 1980, he did research work at McMaster University, Max-Planck Institute for Nuclear Research, Michigan State University and Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory. He received the Alexander von Humboldt Senior Distinguished Scientist Award in 1995 and the Texas A&M Association of Former Students Distinguished Research Award in 2004, and he is a Fellow of the American Physical Society. Currently, his research interests include theoretical studies of 1) nuclear symmetry energy effects in heavy ion collisions with rare isotopes, 2) signals and properties of the quark-gluon plasma produced in relativistic heavy ion collisions, and 3) particle production in hadronic reactions. His publications can be found in His research has been supported by National Science Foundation,Department of Energy and the Robert A.Welch Foundation.

Latest Publications

Jun Xu, Arianna Carbone, Zhen Zhang, and Che Ming Ko. “Nuclear matter properties at finite temperatures from effective interactions.” Phys. Rev. C, 100(2), 024618, Aug 2019.

Akira Ono, Jun Xu, Maria Colonna, Pawel Danielewicz, Che Ming Ko, Manyee Betty Tsang, Yong-Jia Wang, Hermann Wolter, Ying-Xun Zhang, Lie-Wen Chen, Dan Cozma, Hannah Elfner, Zhao-Qing Feng, Natsumi Ikeno, Bao-An Li, Swagata Mallik, Yasushi Nara, Tatsuhiko Ogawa, Akira Ohnishi, Dmytro Oliinychenko, Jun Su, Taesoo Song, Feng-Shou Zhang, and Zhen Zhang. “Comparison of heavy-ion transport simulations: Collision integral with pions and resonances in a box.” Phys. Rev. C, 100(4), 044617, Oct 2019.

Kai-Jia Sun, Che Ming Ko, and Benjamin Dönigus. “Suppression of light nuclei production in collisions of small systems at the Large Hadron Collider.” Physics Letters B, 792, 132--137, May 2019.

Yifeng Sun and Che Ming Ko. “Probing the topological charge in QCD matter via multiplicity up--down asymmetry.” Physics Letters B, 789, 228--232, Feb 2019.

Yifeng Sun and Che Ming Ko. “Azimuthal angle dependence of the longitudinal spin polarization in relativistic heavy ion collisions.” Phys. Rev. C, 99(1), 011903, Jan 2019.

Awards & Recognition

  • Excellence in Reviewing (2012)
  • Outstanding Referee (2010)
  • Distinguished Research Award (2004)
  • Fellow (1994)
  • Senior Distinguished Scientist Award (1994)