Skip to content
College Station TAMU
Faculty: Distinguished Professor

Che-Ming Ko


CYCL 337 (main office)


Professor Ko received a from Tunghai University in Taiwan, a M.Sc. degree from McMaster University in Canada and a Ph.D. from the State University of New York at Stony Brook. Before joining the Texas A&M faculty in 1980, he did research work at McMaster University, Max-Planck Institute for Nuclear Research, Michigan State University and Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory. He received the Alexander von Humboldt Senior Distinguished Scientist Award in 1995 and the Texas A&M Association of Former Students Distinguished Research Award in 2004, and he is a Fellow of the American Physical Society. Currently, his research interests include theoretical studies of 1) nuclear symmetry energy effects in heavy ion collisions with rare isotopes, 2) signals and properties of the quark-gluon plasma produced in relativistic heavy ion collisions, and 3) particle production in hadronic reactions. His publications can be found in His research has been supported by National Science Foundation,Department of Energy and the Robert A.Welch Foundation.

Latest Publications

G. Jhang, et al. “Symmetry energy investigation with pion production from Sn+Sn systems.” Physics Letters B, 813, 136016, Feb 2021.

Tianhao Shao, Jinhui Chen, Che Ming Ko, and Kai-Jia Sun. “Probing QCD critical fluctuations from the yield ratio of strange hadrons in relativistic heavy-ion collisions.” Physics Letters B, 801, 135177, Feb 2020.

He Liu, Jun Xu, and Che Ming Ko. “Properties of strange quark stars with isovector interactions.” Physics Letters B, 803, 135343, Apr 2020.

Rui Wang, Zhen Zhang, Lie-Wen Chen, Che Ming Ko, and Yu-Gang Ma. “Constraining the in-medium nucleon-nucleon cross section from the width of nuclear giant dipole resonance.” Physics Letters B, 807, 135532, Aug 2020.

Tianhao Shao, Jinhui Chen, Che Ming Ko, and Zi-Wei Lin. “Enhanced production of strange baryons in high-energy nuclear collisions from a multiphase transport model.” Phys. Rev. C, 102(1), 014906, Jul 2020.

Awards & Recognition

  • Excellence in Reviewing (2012)
  • Outstanding Referee (2010)
  • Distinguished Research Award (2004)
  • Fellow (1994)
  • Senior Distinguished Scientist Award (1994)

Copyright © 2021. All rights reserved, Texas A&M University Trademark | Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas 77843