physics and astronomy icons

High Energy Physics Research

Our faculty in both theoretical (Allen, Arnowitt, K. Becker, M. Becker, Bryan, Dutta, Nanopoulos, Pope, Sezgin), and experimental (Eusebi, Kamon, Mahapatra, McIntyre, Safonov, Toback, Webb, White) high energy physics are playing a major role in current and future efforts to understand the new fields, particles, and principles of nature that await discovery during the coming decade.

The Higgs boson would complete the Standard Model, but may also lead to new physics, since it is quite unlike the other particles that we know. Supersymmetry (SUSY) would give rise to a new menagerie of particles beyond the Standard Model, and uniquely opens the possibility to directly connect the Standard Model with the unification of the fundamental interactions near the Planck scale (~ 1019 GeV). Neutrino oscillations would signal a mixing of leptonic flavors and again require new physics beyond the Standard Model. Dark matter is inferred from galactic rotation curves, the cosmic microwave background, and supernova observations.

High Energy Experiment:

Ricardo Eusebi is a member of the experimental high energy research group currently working on the search for the Higgs boson and in the properties of the top quark using the CDF detector at Fermilab and the CMS detector at CERN. More specifically his research focuses on the study of the mechanism of electroweak symmetry breaking in high energy collisions and decays.

Teruki Kamon is a member of the CDF and CMS collaborations. His primary thrust is to test particle physics models that provide candidate for cold dark matter. Supersymmetry (SUSY) is one of the leading candidates. He has pioneered the SUSY searches in its final states involving electrons, muons, and the third generation particles (e.g., tau lepton) at hadron colliders.

Rupak Mahapatra is an experimental particle physicist with expertise in building particle detectors and data analysis. He is currently involved in developing next generation dark matter detectors made of Ge semiconductors with Transition Edge Sensors (TES), utilizing state of the art semiconductor device fabrication instruments in his labs. His research web page can be found here:

Peter McIntyre develops new physics and technology for particle accelerators, and applications of that research for practical purposes. Topics include 24 Tesla dipoles capable of tripling the energy of the LHC; polyhedral superconducting cavities to improve the cost/performance of linac colliders; textured-powder Bi-2212 superconductor for high-field MR spectroscopy in molecular medicine and all-electric car motors; strong-focusing cyclotrons for medical isotope synthesis and radioactive ion beam research; and accelerator-driven subcritical fission in molten-salt cores for green nuclear power technology that could provide all of Man’s energy for the next 3000 years.

Alexei Safonov works in the area of experimental high energy physics, which embarks on fundamental understanding of the world around us by studying its smallest building blocks and forces that keep these blocks together. His personal physics interests focuses on searches for Higgs boson, the "god particle", and other kinds of "new" physics including Supersymmetry at the Fermilab Tevatron and CERN LHC colliders.

David Toback works at the interface of particle physics and cosmology, and searches for new particles including the Higgs Boson, Supersymmetry and Dark Matter on the CDF experiment at the Tevatron at Fermilab and the CMS experiment LHC at CERN.

Robert C. Webb is a member of the experimental high energy research program and has previously been involved in rare particle searches, studying high energy proton-antiproton collisions and studying neutrino oscillations using a long baseline experiment. Most recently, Dr. Webb has joined with faculty colleague, James White, to search for Dark Matter using a liquid Xenon detector at the Sanford Underground Facility (LUX). More details concerning this research can be found at

High Energy Theory:

The high energy theorists at TAMU work on a variety of very interesting and fundamental areas including general relativity, quantum gravity, string theory, grand unification of forces, construction of models, phenomenology of string models, signatures at the large hadron collider (LHC), baryogenesis, dark matter, inflation etc. A detailed description of their works can be found in the individual web pages.

Roland E. Allen is exploring a statistical picture which contains features such as supersymmetry and SO(N) gauge unification.

Richard Arnowitt’s current research is in high energy particle theory, ranging from discovery of new physics at accelerators to particle astro-physics and general relativity. He has also recently become interested in climate physics.

Katrin Becker works in fundamental aspects of string theory and their application to the construction of models which could make predictions for particle physics and cosmology.

Melanie Becker is a string theorist working in fundamental aspects of superstring theory as well as its applications to particle physics and cosmology.

Bhaskar Dutta presently works on the interconnection between particle physics and cosmology which includes Inflation, Dark Matter, model building, Baryogenesis and Large Hadron Collider physics.

Dimitri Nanopoulos works on model building and phenomenology of F-Theory Supersymmetric GUTs at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC). He develops blueprints and testing methodologies at the LHC for a No-Scale Multiverse.

Chris Pope works on general relativity, quantum gravity and string theory. He also works on the unification of the fundamental forces in nature.

Ergin Sezgin works on classical and quantum supergravity theories in diverse dimensions, Strings, branes and unification of gravity with strong and electro-weak forces.

Currently, the theory group has the eight following post-doctoral fellows [2011]: David Chow, Sera Cremonini, Tianjun Li, James Maxin, Daniel Robbins, Kuver Sinha, Waldemar Schulgin, Linus Wulff.

Previous post-doctoral fellows of the theory group, over the last five years include: Yukihiro Mimura, Justin Vasquez-Poritz, Hong Lu, Jason Kumar, Aaron Bergmann, and Louis Leblond.

At present, the theory group has the following 10 graduate students: Chris Burton, Yaniel Cabrera, Sheldon Campbell, Sean Downes, Shan Hu, Tristan Leggett, Abid Mujtaba, Mehmet Ozkan, Kechen Wang, Zhao Wang.

Recent Graduates of the theory group [2011]: Guangyu Guo, Abram Krislock, Dan Xie; [2010]: Yu Chieh, James Maxin, Jian-Wei Mei.