physics and astronomy icons
Physics and Astronomy at TAMU
Nicholas B. Suntzeff
Mitchell/Munnerlyn/Heep Professor of Observational Astronomy
Astronomy - Astrophysics

Office Tel: 1-979-458-1786
Office: MIST M513
Lab Location: Munnerlyn 214
Fax: 1-979-845-2590
Mobile: 1-979-229-9597
Office Hours: by appointment (email me!)

Personal Website:

Education: Stanford 1970-1974 UC Santa Cruz & Lick Observatory 1974-80

Nicholas Suntzeff is an observational astronomer, working the fields of cosmology, supernovae, galaxy evolution and large-scale structure, stellar populations, astronomical site surveys, and instrumentation.

Personal Text:

Suntzeff studied mathematics at Stanford University (B.S. with distinction 1974) and astronomy and astrophysics at Lick Observatory, UC Santa Cruz (Ph.D. 1980). He has worked as an astronomer at the University of Washington, the Carnegie Observatories in Pasadena, and the US National Optical Astronomy Observatory/Cerro Tololo Inter-American Observatory in La Serena, Chile where he was the Associate Director for Science for NOAO. In 1994 with Dr. Brian Schmidt, he co-founded the High-Z Supernova Team which in 1998 discovered acceleration and the presence of Dark Energy in the Universe. He was also a co-founder of the Calan/Tololo Supernova Survey which established Type Ia supernovae as the most precise markers for measuring cosmological distances.


Click to modify your profile. (password required)